Skip to content

Perhaps a Persimmon

November 30, 2009
tags:

Good afternoon! 

I hope your morning has gone well.  Mine was spent at Barnes and Noble, doing work 😦

Bleh.  Luckily though, I got a TON of work done on my online classes, so now I have all afternoon free.  I’m getting a big load of papers from my composition students tomorrow, so I want to have as much work done as possible before that grading storm rolls in.  The house is a wreck, so I’m about to do a major cleaning spree.  I need to take the dogs on a W-A-L-K, but it’s really gross outside (complete 180 from yesterday), so it probably won’t be a long one. 

I spent longer than anticipated at B&N, and by the time I got home, I was starving!!  I whipped up a quick lunch: tortilla wrap with sprouts, Sabra hummus, Follow Your Heart mozzarella, and cherry tomatoes.  On the side I had the rest of the pear from last night’s salad, as well as…a persimmon!  I saw these on Kath’s blog, and when we went home to Shreveport and visited the outdoor arboretum at Centenary, my mom mentioned that she had eaten a persimmon from one of the trees a few weeks earlier.  I’ve been wanting to give them a try ever since, so I picked up a few at the grocery store on Sunday night. 

Here’s my lunch:

The persimmon:

My take on the persimmon?  I liked it!  I think Kath described it as a cross between mango and papaya (which I really do not like), and that sounds about right.  It had a pretty mellow flavor, and the skin was tougher than I thought it would be.  I certainly wouldn’t eat one of these every day, but it was a nice change from the apple/pear rotation I usually find myself in at lunch.  Plus, Ryan kept calling them parsnips, which I found very funny.  So that made it all worth it.

After lunch, I still felt empty/hungry, probably because I was SO hungry beforehand.  So I wrapped up the meal with this:

Sorry for the blurriness– I just couldn’t get this one right! 

This bar was pretty good!  This was the first time I’d seen it in the stores.  It’s basically a chewy Kashi bar topped with a “pumpkin pie” topping and walnuts.  The topping wasn’t too sweet, and had  nice nutmeg-y flavor.  Yum!

Hope your afternoon goes well.  See you at dinner!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2009 7:26 pm

    I love persimmons! In California they’re all over the place! Here in Upstate NY… they cost $2 each!!! RIDICULOUS!

    • November 30, 2009 9:17 pm

      Yeah, I definitely would not pay that! It’s funny how some stuff is SO expensive in certain places, and cost next to nothing in others.

  2. November 30, 2009 8:22 pm

    I’ve never had a persimmon! It looks really yummy! I’m glad you got all your work done – my hubby is finishing up his master’s and he’s working on his 2nd to last class! So much work!

    • November 30, 2009 9:16 pm

      Ugh– I understand! The end is the hardest, because you’re just ready to be done with it!! (at least, that’s how I felt) What is your hub getting his Master’s in?

  3. Emily permalink
    November 30, 2009 9:22 pm

    I love those bars! The chocolate coconut variety is yummy, too!

  4. November 30, 2009 10:22 pm

    Growing up Persimmon was very typical fall fruit that my mom would buy, then we moved to the States and never saw it again, until couple years ago. They are very pricey here in TX so now its an indulgence.

Leave a comment