Skip to content

These Are a Few of My Favorite Things

December 15, 2009
tags:

Sweet potatoes and peanut butter, of course!  What did you think I meant– girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes?

For dinner tonight, we created a stew loosely based on the African Sweet Potato and Peanut Stew from Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s cookbook, The Vegan Table.  We ended up adding and changing a lot from her original recipe, so I’ll share ours with you here.

Peanutty Sweet Potato, Butternut Squash, and Eggplant Stew

Ingredients:

1 tbsp. olive oil

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

2 tbsp. ginger, minced

1 red bell pepper, chopped

1 tbsp. brown sugar

2 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

1 sweet potato, peeled and chopped

1 eggplant, chopped

1/4 butternut squash, peeled, de-seeded, and chopped

1 15 oz. can red (kidney) beans, drained and rinsed

1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes

4 cups vegetable broth

1/4 cup peanut butter

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 cup roasted peanuts, chopped

cilantro, chopped

Directions:

In a soup pot, heat olive oil.  Add onion and garlic and cook for 5 minutes, until they start to soften and turn translucent.  Add ginger, bell pepper, and brown sugar, and cook for another five minutes.  Add spices, sweet potato, eggplant, and butternut squash and cook for another 6-8 minutes.  Add kidney beans, tomatoes, peanut butter, and broth.  Stir with a wooden spoon, scraping up the bottom of the pot to deglaze.  Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.  Cook over medium heat for at least 30 minutes, until the vegetables have softened.  

As with many soups and stews, the longer you let it simmer, the better it’ll taste!

Season with salt and pepper to taste. 

Serve over couscous, garnished with peanuts and cilantro.

It was good! My dad even said, “You know, this was actually good.” 

High compliments from him, trust me 🙂

Pictures:

Obviously, I hated it:

My dad is playing Christmas carols for us now on his guitar, but I think we’re about to move back into the dining room for a card game.  I did pretty badly when we played Hearts over Thanksgiving– I need to reclaim my pride!

Hope you’ve had a great day.  We had a fun afternoon– we went to Steinmart because I wanted to look at a pair of jeans.  I didn’t like the jeans, but they had an “Angel Tree” up for kids that needed Christmas presents, and we ended up picking out a 12 year old girl’s angel and buying her requests: lip gloss, a purse, and jewelry… 🙂  

Have a great night!  See you tomorrow!  We’re going to a lunch for my grandmother– she’s turning 85! Her actual birthday is actually on Christmas Eve, but my mom and aunts are throwing her a party tomorrow as an early celebration.  I’ll be posting some pics!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 2:17 am

    Your family is so cute. I’ve always dreamed of someone playing the guitar or piano at out holiday functions. That soups looks delish but it takes a serious attention span to get through that ingredient list. This is why my cooking sucks! Enjoy your evening with the fam. Happy birthday gram. Aren’t grandmas the best!

    • December 15, 2009 3:24 am

      It’s a long list of ingredients, but it was really easy to make, I promise!

  2. December 15, 2009 2:28 am

    So cute! 85! Wow!

    Recipe sounds great!

  3. December 15, 2009 3:04 am

    Those are literally all of my favorite foods combined in a dish, I must make it!
    And I was Maria in The Sound of Music, so I also like girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes. 🙂 Your post made me smile!

    • December 15, 2009 3:26 am

      Oh man…I DREAMED about being in that musical as a child. Which is hilarious, because I have no vocal or theatrical talent whatsoever. I wanted to be Gretel– I loved her “solo” in “So Long, Farewell” 🙂

  4. December 15, 2009 3:41 am

    Oh that stew looks really good.

    Isn’t it funny how fast time goes by… I feel like it was couple days ago I was reading your Thanksgiving posts while you were in Shreveport.. and now you are back for Christmas. I stink at card games 😦

    Happy Birthday to your grandmother.

  5. December 15, 2009 4:14 am

    I hope you have a great lunch with your granny! 85! Wow! That calls for a celebration indeed!
    And boy oh boy….that soup sounds TOO good to be true! Sweet potato…and PB! that’s so interesting…I don’t really like PB by itself, but I love it when it’s incorporated into dishes like this!

  6. December 15, 2009 4:19 am

    have a great lunch w. your gma..so sweet!

  7. Kristie Lynn permalink
    December 15, 2009 5:11 am

    In my 7th grade Language Arts (oh man, love that it was called that) class, we got to make our own lyrics to the song. I think mine involved bunnies, kitties, and cute boys. Oh middle school 😉

  8. December 15, 2009 12:07 pm

    That dinner looks divine!

    It’s great that you picked up gifts for the angel tree. I really wish we could have afforded to do something like that this year.

  9. Emily permalink
    December 15, 2009 1:24 pm

    Good luck in the run tonight!

  10. December 15, 2009 1:26 pm

    What a great looking recipe!

    Happy Birthday to your grandmother!

  11. December 15, 2009 2:02 pm

    Oh how scary! Just a few minutes ago I was thinking that I really need to make stew again and then I see this! Your stew looks amazing!

  12. December 15, 2009 4:05 pm

    Mmmm so many great flavors all combined–sounds wonderful!

  13. December 15, 2009 4:36 pm

    The soup looks delicious.

    Have a great time at the party and Happy Birthday to your grandmother!

  14. December 15, 2009 6:54 pm

    lovely looking stew! Thanks for sharing 😉

    Happy B-day to grams!

  15. December 15, 2009 7:13 pm

    Great looking dish!! Seriously, those are a few of MY favorite things too!

    Love the guitar. Cool that your dad plays. My brother is the guitar player in our family.

  16. greensandjeans permalink
    December 15, 2009 7:46 pm

    Major swoonage over that soup! I grew up with my dad playing the guitar and now him, my brother, and I all play! We always joke about getting my mom a tambourine and starting up a band.

    • December 15, 2009 8:58 pm

      Ha– I think that’s my dad’s secret dream too…except that none of the rest of us can play anything!

Leave a comment