Skip to content

Brunch

December 20, 2009

Good afternoon (again!).  Hope you’re having a good Sunday.

We woke up around 7 this morning, had a quick breakfast, showered, and headed to church.  We sang lots of Christmas carols—gotta love that 🙂

Around 11:30, sat down for a delicious brunch prepared by Ryan’s mom, Patti: quiche, two types of muffins, and fresh fruit!

blog 011

The quiche was actually store-bought at Costco.  It was from a brand called La Terra Fina, and was an all natural egg white spinach and artichoke quiche with pepper jack and monterey jack cheeses.  It was delicious, and a big slice of it was only 250 calories! Pretty good!  The crust was the best part—it was so soft and buttery.

Quiche:

blog 014

Muffins:

blog 010

The muffins were both made from Trader Joe mixes: pumpkin and bran berry.  Ryan and I tried both, half-and-half.  The bran muffin had eight grams of fiber per muffin…they both tasted great.

Here’s my plate:

blog 018

blog 020

Carson enjoyed brunch too:

blog 025

But he’s not that happy ALL the time 🙂 :

blog 004

Even when he’s mad, he’s a cutie!

The ladies of the house are going to get manicures this afternoon, and then Ryan and I are in charge of cooking a vegetarian dinner tonight for the fam.  We’re still undecided about what to make, but I think we’re leaning toward chili.  It’s been pretty cold and rainy here, so a big bowl of warm chili sounds pretty good right about now!

Hope you’re having a great Sunday!  See you tonight!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2009 8:36 pm

    Ohhhh, that quiche looks amazing!!

  2. December 20, 2009 8:46 pm

    Beautiful brunch fare!

  3. December 21, 2009 12:50 am

    Aw, looks like a fun brunch! Haven’t had quiche in a while, it looks so yummy!

  4. December 21, 2009 1:11 am

    I love quiche! So good. Maybe I will make one for dinner tomorrow!

  5. December 21, 2009 1:11 am

    That quiche is good! I’ve tried samples of it at Costco!

  6. December 21, 2009 1:31 am

    Oh I hope the vegetarian dinner went well. And yes, Carson is ADORABLE!! I want to grab him and hug him and cuddle him to pieces (haha, ok, that was weird).

    Glad you had a good Sunday. Mine was long, and exhausting, yet I feel GREAT because I am ready for Christmas! Well, VERY close to being ready….

  7. December 21, 2009 1:58 am

    have fun getting manicures!! that sounds like so much fun!!
    i LOVE brunch-that all looks great

  8. December 21, 2009 3:09 am

    SUPER jeal of your manicures … I need one badly! Costco has some awesome pre-made stuff.

    • December 21, 2009 5:32 am

      I know– I wish we had Costco in Altoona…we have sam’s club, but it’s not as good 😦

Leave a comment