Skip to content

2010 is CRAZY!!!

January 1, 2010

Haha…not really! Our night thus far has been totally lame laid-back but awesome 🙂

For our New Year’s Eve dinner, I knew that I wanted to eat something with CHEESE since I’ll be living without for the next 31 days (I’ll miss you, friend!).  Ryan and I decided on homemade pizza for our party-of-two New Year’s Eve bash.

This afternoon, we got to work making the dough.  We followed a recipe out of Colleen Patrick-Goudrea’s The Vegan Table.  It was a pretty basic pizza dough recipe.  It called for 3 and 1/4 cups of all-purpose flour, and we subbed 1 cup with whole wheat flour.  Otherwise, we followed it to a T.  After a few hours of letting the dough rise, we had a lovely, glistening bowl of pizza dough:

Ryan and I like our pizza really, really thin, so I rolled it out as thin as possible:

I prepared some pseudo-Caesar salads, while Ryan chopped veggies for the pizza.  Our salads included: romaine, capers, kalamata olives, shaved parmaggiano regiano, lemon zest, and Amy’s Caesar dressing:

blog 052

blog 055

blog 061

The lemon zest really made this salad!

Our toppings included: roasted orange bell peppers, regular yellow bell peppers, pineapple, basil, and blue cheese:

blog 038

blog 039

blog 041

After rolling out the dough, we baked it in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes, and then pulled it out to top it.  We always bake our crust first for a little while before topping it; otherwise, we’ve found that it can stay pretty doughy, even after baking.

Post-baking:

 blog 035

blog 036

Topped, back into the oven for another 10 minutes or so:

blog 045

blog 044

Out of the oven…ready to eat!

blog 070

blog 066

Don’t you just love my New Year’s Eve outfit?  Tank top and yoga pants– super fancy!

blog 046

We poured a nice glass of wine and settled down on the couch to watch one of my absolute favorite movies: Almost Famous.  Can you believe Ryan has never seen this movie?  I love, love, love it. I remember totally wanting to be Penny Lane the first time I saw it :-).  Plus, it contains one of my all-time favorite movie quotes:

“The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what you share with someone else when you’re uncool.”

How appropriate for tonight’s activities 😉

Hope you’re having a great New Year’s Eve.  If you can’t tell by the above pic, I’ve been feeling a little under the weather, so I don’t even know if I’ll make it to midnight.  Kiss someone for me!

See you in 2010!!

ps-  Thank you for ALL the sweet comments about my new hair! Y’all are too sweet!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 4:41 am

    I love the cheesy goodbye to 2009

  2. January 1, 2010 6:41 am

    haha LOVE the new years outfit..thats my kina outfit!!
    giving up cheese? you are my hero-something i could never do!

  3. January 1, 2010 2:48 pm

    Hey Anna, Happy New Year friend. I missed all of your posts last night and feel totally out of the loop. First of all, LOVE the haircut. You’re beautiful regardless but it really brightens your face. Secondly, what a great idea for your challenges. I’m thinking that I might join along with you in some. I might spend the day thinking about doing the challenge for this month but tI already had milk with my coffee this morning. Maybe I might join it a day late—we’ll see.
    I have never seen Almost Famous either and we have it on DVD. Obviously you think it’s great. Have a great day and again, great idea with the monthly challenges.Can’t wait to see each month.

    • January 1, 2010 8:16 pm

      I’d love to have you join the challenge, fully or just partially!!!

  4. January 1, 2010 3:27 pm

    The pizza looked yummy! I love pizza nights.

  5. patti permalink
    January 1, 2010 4:39 pm

    Happy New Year! Wish I could try some of the pizza – looks very tasty. I like your hair – very cute. I also noticed how nice the necklace looks – I’m glad Santa made a good choice 🙂 Happy 2010 and good luck with the vegan diet this mont

  6. Emily permalink
    January 1, 2010 5:14 pm

    You can do no cheese for 30 days! I don’t eat nearly as much as I used to, since Jon doesn’t eat it, and I’ve found that it’s really enjoyable when I do have it. Absence makes the taste buds grow fonder. (or something!)

    • January 1, 2010 8:17 pm

      I still think it’s insane that Jon doesn’t like cheese 🙂

      But I can definitely see how not eating it all the time would make you really appreciate it when you do!

      Hope y’all had a great New Years and Christmas! Tell Jon and Diego hello for us 🙂

  7. greensandjeans permalink
    January 1, 2010 5:24 pm

    First- I LOVE your haircut! So adorable! Second- that pizza looks incredible, and the perfect way to say goodbye to cheese! Third- happy new year!

  8. January 1, 2010 5:27 pm

    Happy New Year Anna! That pizza looked awesome and your New Year’s Eve night sounded just about 100% perfect! Yea for 2010!! 🙂

  9. January 1, 2010 5:36 pm

    Uhm, yeah, that pizza looks AMAZING and so colorful! 🙂

  10. January 1, 2010 6:08 pm

    Who cares about the yoga pants, that last picture of you is GORGEOUS! You are glowing, probably from ringing in the new year with someone you love. 🙂 Happy new year!

  11. January 1, 2010 6:09 pm

    Yoga pants and a tank top are exactly what I was wearing yesterday too. 🙂 That is the best ensemble for a laid back evening!

  12. January 1, 2010 6:57 pm

    It would definitely be hard for me to live life without cheese. I guess vegans can eat soy cheese though? Not sure how it tastes, but maybe you can use that as a substitute.

    • January 1, 2010 8:18 pm

      I’ve had soy cheese on sandwiches before, and it’s not too bad. It’s definitely not something I would just eat on its own, but mixed into a dish, it works.

  13. January 1, 2010 8:10 pm

    What a fantastic New Year’s dinner! It seems like everyone was all about the pizza last night, which is something I’ve been eating less of because wheat is something I stay away form for IBS, ugh. I miss it, and seeing your pizza makes me REALLY miss it!! I couldn’t live without cheese though, I’ll admit, it would be very hard for me. I don’t eat a lot, but I eat enough that it would be thoroughly missed.

    I’m glad you had a nice, relaxing evening. HAppy New Year!

  14. Tina permalink
    January 1, 2010 9:50 pm

    Tank top + yoga pants = totally New Year’s Eve Fashion Statement!

    Happy New Year to you too!

    That pizza looked delish!

    And your pizzatoppings may have inspired me to make a new salad, I’ve been into pineapple lately and I guess there must be another way to eat it other than stuff it in my face…
    xx

    • January 2, 2010 3:31 am

      lol– don’t worry. I also like to stuff pineapple in my face 🙂

  15. January 2, 2010 5:22 am

    What a delicious looking pizza! Great toppings!
    You look amazing in that top! Pink is definitely your color!
    Happy New Year!

Leave a comment