Skip to content

Red and Green

January 2, 2010

If the holidays are over, then why does my dinner still look like Christmas?

Oh well 🙂

Evening, all.  Today has been pretty laid-back.  We finished up the football game (way to go, Penn State!), and then Ryan and I headed out for another walk, sans dogs.  We ended up walking a little over 5 miles!  It was such a pretty day outside, and we’d been sitting around all day, so all that walking felt really good.

For dinner, Ryan, my dad and I were on our own.  My grandmother actually had a nasty fall this morning, and she may or may not have broken her foot.  My mom and aunts have been at the hospital with her all day, getting x-rays, etc.  She’s going to be okay, but they’re keeping her overnight.  Y’all keep her in your prayers.

For dinner, Ryan had our leftover pizza and I created a Mediterranean dinner with some other stuff that was taking up room in the fridge. 

I started off with this block of polenta:

blog 099 

And then…I heated up about 3/4 cup of tomato sauce (Glen Muir organic pizza sauce, actually) with about a cup of baby spinach.  Once the sauce was heated through and the spinach was wilted, I poured it over the polenta.  Then, I topped that with olive tapenade, fresh basil, and sun-dried tomatoes.  For a spur-of-the-moment dinner, it was good! 

blog 100 blog 102

Of course, I ended the meal with one two of these bad boys:

blog 106

Now my dad, Ryan and I are watching Body of Lies with Russell Crowe and Leonardo DiCaprio.  Um…it’s intense. Seriously intense. 

Hope you’ve had a great first day of the year.  I’m pooped!

Night, y’all!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 3:35 am

    Great walk!

  2. January 2, 2010 3:52 am

    That dish looks fab!

  3. January 2, 2010 4:04 am

    I’m sorry to hear about your grandma. I’ll definitely keep her in my prayers.

  4. January 2, 2010 4:26 am

    I just bought some quinoa polenta and plan on doing some sort of tomato and portobello mushroom sauce for it. BTW, tomorrow I’ll be posting a cheeseless queso dip you might be interested in since you’re doing the vegan thing this month.

  5. January 2, 2010 5:09 am

    Oh no! I hope your grandmother is okay!

  6. January 2, 2010 5:29 am

    i LOVE your comments 🙂 i hope your gma is okay love! ill say a prayer for her!
    your pb and j cookies are making me so very jelous

  7. January 2, 2010 5:30 am

    Yikes, I hope your grandma is okay! I’ve never cooked with polenta myself. I liked it the few times I’ve had it though. We have some powder polenta in the pantry…I wonder what the difference is from solid polenta.

  8. January 2, 2010 5:48 am

    I love walks 🙂

    Sorry to hear about your grandma! I hope she has a quick recovery!

  9. Tina permalink
    January 2, 2010 9:41 am

    Haha xD
    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a block of polenta before that stuff looks funny.

    Hope your grandma’s ok 😦

    Take carex

  10. January 2, 2010 12:43 pm

    What a neat dinner idea! And of course, finishing it off with cookies is aaalways a fabulous idea. 😉

  11. January 2, 2010 1:16 pm

    Sorry to hear about your grandmother’s fall. Hope all is well with her.

    Your dinner looks really good. How was day one of vaganism?

  12. January 2, 2010 2:54 pm

    Your poor Grandma! Hope she heals soon.

    Steven LOVES Body of Lies. LOVES it. We saw it in the theater and when we bought the DVD, I think he watched it 4x in one month 🙂

    • January 2, 2010 10:06 pm

      Maybe I need to watch it a couple of times…I was kind of getting lost!

  13. January 2, 2010 5:30 pm

    The polenta looks really good, somehow I never know what to do with it.

    Body of Lies was way too much for me to handle. I had to turn it off!

  14. January 2, 2010 6:49 pm

    Sorry to hear about gram. My nana did the same thing in August and has been living with my mother ever since. Oy. She needed someone to take care of her since she couldn’t walk anywhere so mom had to quit her job and be her care taker. Double Oy. It seems like your gram has tons of support and friends to help carry the load. She’s in my thoughts though.

    What’s the deal with that polenta. Where can I get some!

    • January 2, 2010 10:07 pm

      Wow– that is really, really selfless of your mom.

      We get our polenta just at the regular grocery store– all it is is grits, really!

  15. Kristi permalink
    January 2, 2010 8:41 pm

    Have you tried Mrs. May’s TRIO bars? Pretty good breakfast option. I got them at Costco.

    • January 2, 2010 10:08 pm

      I haven’t tried them Kristi– we only have Sam’s in Altoona, not Costco. But maybe I could track some down. I’ll definitely get some if I spot them anywhere!

Leave a comment