Skip to content

Vegan Curry in a Hurry

January 3, 2010

Afternoon blogger friends!  Hope your Sunday has gone well so far!

My dad left this morning for a three day hunting trip down in South Louisiana (he said that it would be a good chance for him to balance me out, ha), so it’s just me, Ryan and my mom in the house right now.  Well, plus the animals, of course!

This morning, after my dad left, the three of us plus Katherine and Kevin headed up to the hospital to visit my grandmother.  She seemed to be doing okay—my mom said that she seemed much better today than she had yesterday or the day before, so that’s good.  She’s definitely ready to get back home, but she won’t be released until tomorrow at the earliest.  We stayed and chatted with her for about an hour, and then headed home for some lunch. 

The rest of the group had gyros from a local Greek pick-up joint, but sadly, there were no vegan options on the menu (I wasn’t expecting there to be, but you never know!), so we brought all the Greek food home and I made my own lunch.  I was a little disappointed…it’s no fun when you can’t join in for a delicious meal! 😦 But my lunch ended up being really good, so I ended up with a happy belly after all!

For my vegan curry, I mashed up about 3/4 cup of garbanzo beans.  Then, I added a tsp. of Vegenaise and a big shake of curry powder.  I put that on an Ezekial pita, and topped all of it with some golden raisins, coconut flakes, and peanuts.  It was actually delicious! 

My plate started like this:

blog 009

But that looked a little bare, so I quickly added some potato salad 🙂

 blog 010

blog 007

Delish!

A few days ago, I was super-excited to get a package in the mail from Joanna of Fitness and Spice.  I love being a contest-winner! 

The box was filled with somersaults! 

blog 002

And an operation beautiful note:

blog 001

These somersaults are good!  Thanks, Joanna!  The ones I got are sea salt and sunflower seed flavored.  They’re really crunchy with the perfect amount of salt.  Each package (about the size of an airplane pack of peanuts…maybe a little bigger?  Perfect for a small snack) has only 70 calories.  Check ‘em out!

  blog 019

Not sure what’s on the agenda for the rest of the day.  Right now, we’re cleaning up the house and de-decorating. 

Did I stutter? 🙂

Have a great day!

 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 9:32 pm

    Your wrap sounds pretty good to me. Don’t you just love chickpeas! We’ve been de-decorating all weekend. Everything looks so bare now 😦

  2. January 3, 2010 9:33 pm

    I think you lunch looks absolutely delicious! Who needs a gyro!?

  3. January 3, 2010 9:35 pm

    Garbanzo beans!!! Yummies :!)

  4. January 3, 2010 9:40 pm

    I was just talking about curry on my blog and here you are with a delish curry hodgepodge. Never would have thought of throwing such simple ingredients together with the curry. Thanks lady! So cool that you won those treats.

  5. January 3, 2010 10:29 pm

    been dying to try those sommersaults! ive NEVER had curry!
    happy sunday lovely!

    • January 4, 2010 4:38 am

      NEVER had curry?? Oh, you MUST try it in something! It’s one of my absolute favorite spices/flavors!

  6. January 3, 2010 10:54 pm

    Too bad you couldn’t all eat together. It can be tricky to find restaurants that work for all our diets around here, too

  7. January 3, 2010 10:55 pm

    Vegan curry? Oooh dear, this sounds absolutely devine – love me some curry! Those somersaults look so cute, I have never heard of them before!

  8. greensandjeans permalink
    January 3, 2010 11:16 pm

    Your curry in a hurry looks so good! I’m a big fan of curry and anything quick and easy!

  9. January 3, 2010 11:54 pm

    The Greek place didn’t have any vegan options? I bet if you asked them, they could take a pita and just add a bunch of vegetables. Any place should do that, if you ask. Either way, the creation you made at home was probably much better! You gotta have the beans for protein, right?!

    I have not tried the Somersaults, but keep hearing about them. I haven’t seen them in stores, but I really want to find them!

    Have a great night.

    • January 4, 2010 4:39 am

      I’m sure they would have, actually. I guess I just didn’t feel like being “difficult.” 🙂

  10. January 4, 2010 12:04 am

    De-decorating – I like that. I did that today, too. Unfortunately. But glad it’s done! Your curry looks WONDERFUL!!!!!! Happy Sunday!

  11. January 4, 2010 1:30 am

    Your last sentence totally cracked me up! Love the curry recipe- it looks delish!

  12. January 4, 2010 2:28 am

    I am too surprised that the greek place couldn’t make you something… although the vegan option that they would have come up with may not have been as good as what you made at home.

  13. January 4, 2010 3:34 am

    Glad to hear your grandma is going well!! 🙂

  14. January 4, 2010 3:44 am

    That looks deliciosa! So excited to hear you’re doing the vegan January as well. I’m going to be checking your blog often for meal ideas and encouragement.

  15. January 4, 2010 3:57 am

    Garbanzo beans are the best. How are you so creative with your cooking?? I love this idea.

Trackbacks

  1. City of Lights « Newlywed, Newly Veg!
  2. The Power of Juice « Newlywed, Newly Veg!

Leave a comment