Skip to content

Keen on Quinoa

January 10, 2010

Bet you can’t guess what we had for dinner.  🙂

Our afternoon was spent doing more work…specifically, I got to work cleaning, cleaning, cleaning.  I got some Mrs. Meyer’s counter cleaning spray…have you tried this?  I got the Lemon Verbana scent, and I really like it!  Very fresh smelling.  I also mopped and vacuumed.  And then mopped again when I found a few “gifts” from Baxter in the living room.  Nice.

We didn’t make it over to the gym…well, actually, we were going to go, but we called to ask about the hours around 3:30, and they told us that they close at 4:00 on Saturday!  Rats! Oh well…I think we’re going to go tomorrow morning.  I ended up walking/running 3.5 miles on our “home gym” treadmill, which was perfect!  My energy level has been pretty low today…I think I’m still feeling yesterday’s long day of travel. 

Around 6, we got started on dinner.  It ended up pretty good!

Black Bean and Mango Quinoa

Ingredients:

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

1 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. ground cumin

salt and pepper

1 15 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup quinoa

1 mango, chopped

1 avocado, chopped

1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

Directions:

In a saucepan, combine 1 cup quinoa with two cups water.  Bring to a boil, then lower to a simmer and cook until water is absorbed, about 15-20 minutes.

While quinoa is cooking, heat a skillet and add garlic.  Cook for 2-3 minutes, and then add red pepper.  Cook for about 5 minutes, until peppers have cooked through.  Add spices and black beans, and cook for another 10 minutes or so. 

When quinoa is ready, add quinoa and mango to skillet with pepper and beans.  Stir to incorporate, and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Garnish with avocado and cilantro.

We served ours over a big bed of spinach for some extra greens!  It was good…although I think it could have benefitted from a little more kick.  And maybe some tortilla chips on top! 🙂

Here are some pics of the cooking process:

blog 045

blog 047

Quinoa + veggies…sorry for the steamy pic! It was hot!

blog 048

Final product + dinner:

blog 050

blog 059

blog 060

 Aren’t these fleur de lis candle holders pretty?  I got them while I was home.  Gotta represent Louisiana while I’m stuck up here in cold, snowy PA, right? 

blog 062

Also, check out the pretty table….the plates, napkins, and placemats were all a Christmas present from my sweet husband.  He has good taste, no?

blog 054

Can’t wait to show y’all all the fun new dishes I got over the holiday!

I ended the meal with a big hunk of Theo’s dark chocolate—91%!!! Holy dark chocolate goodness!

I think I’m about to take a long bath with a magazine—I have a lot of magazine reading material to get caught up on from all the time we’ve been gone! 

See you tomorrow, lovelies!

27 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 1:59 am

    I love the Mrs. Meyers cleaning products! They smell SO good. My favorite scent is Geranium scent! I haven’t ever tried the Lemon Verbena…I might have to try that one next! Don’t you love the way a clean house smells?? Ah…I do! 🙂

  2. January 10, 2010 2:27 am

    That recipe looks delish, and I love the pattern on your dinner plates!

  3. Kristie permalink
    January 10, 2010 2:36 am

    What a beautiful looking (as well as delicious tasting I’m sure) dinner! I love mango so much – it’s hard for me to make dishes that include it because I just want to eat it as I chop it up.

  4. greensandjeans permalink
    January 10, 2010 3:35 am

    I love mangos so much! I can’t wait until they are back in season down here and I can get them for crazy cheap!

  5. January 10, 2010 4:43 am

    91% DANGGG girl! u hardcore!! how is it? bitter?!
    i have yet to try quinoa!!

  6. January 10, 2010 5:05 am

    great sounding dish. I love black beans and mangos together. Those are really cool dishes too! Have a great weekend!

  7. January 10, 2010 6:03 am

    Wow that dinner looks amazing! I really miss quinoa!
    Love the candle holder and placemats!

  8. January 10, 2010 6:06 am

    That dinner sounds great. I love black beans and mango is my favorite!! I’ve added this to my to-make list!

  9. January 10, 2010 7:05 am

    wow that sounds like a great flavor combo!

  10. January 10, 2010 7:12 am

    YUM! This dish looks fresh and fantastic, but hearty and filling at the same time. Thanks for the recipe, I love this idea.

  11. January 10, 2010 1:00 pm

    I love quinoa, but I never think of adding mango to it! Thanks for the idea!

  12. January 10, 2010 1:08 pm

    Dark chocolate, bath and a magazine sounds perfect!

  13. Ginger Lowe permalink
    January 10, 2010 1:35 pm

    That dinner looks delicious – can’t wait to try it. And, I love the way your new candleholders look!

  14. January 10, 2010 2:28 pm

    I have some cleaning to do myself… our Mrs. Meyers cleaning products are pine-scented and smell so good!

  15. January 10, 2010 3:16 pm

    I definitely indulged in a hot bath with magazines last night- the weather practically begs for it! I love the candle holdres. I’ve never tried quinoa (in fact, is it sad that I’m proud of myself for being able to say it properly) but you’ve inspired me to try it!

    btw your beach wedding sounds like it was so amazing. Love the sound of your BM dresses!

  16. January 10, 2010 3:32 pm

    Good morning! I’m Stefan’s mother. Elyssa has been sharing some nice “bloggers” with me. I enjoy your postings. In fact, I’m trying your/your mother’s recipe for roasted vegetables today. I’ve been roasting vegetables for a long time but have never tried adding a little wine to the mix. I’m also adding turnips for the first time (I sauteed the green tops for yesterday’s dinner). We met at the Thai restaurant in Lafayette a while back. Another connection: I see you attended the College of Charleston. We lived in Charleston before moving to Crown Point. I drove Stefan there once a week for Suzuki piano lessons.

    • January 10, 2010 6:58 pm

      Hi Bonnie! I remember our meeting at the Thai restaurant– I’m so glad that Elyssa pointed you toward my blog! I enjoy Elyssa’s blog immensely– I’m excited to start following yours as well!

      Even though it’s been over 5 years since I left Charleston, I miss it terribly and think about it all the time! It’s such a beautiful, unique town…so much culture. I feel lucky that I got to spend the time there that I did, even if it was only four years! And SUCH great restaurants and food…makes my mouth water just thinking about some of the meals that I enjoyed there.

      Let me know how the veggies go– ours were delicious!

  17. January 10, 2010 3:35 pm

    Ooops! Should have left the apostrophe out of my URL:

  18. January 10, 2010 4:09 pm

    What a perfect recipe!! I love quinoa.. its one of my fav grains.. soo good for you, too! 🙂

  19. January 10, 2010 4:46 pm

    Thanks for stopping by for a visit! Lovely place you have here, and I love the sound of this quinoa dish. The mango and avocado really make it dreamy!

    I’ll be back 🙂

  20. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    January 10, 2010 4:46 pm

    i love quinoa, that looks awesome!

  21. January 10, 2010 4:53 pm

    What pretty candles!! And your plates are really cute too.

    Quinoa is one of my favorite things…I love it better than rice!

  22. January 11, 2010 1:47 am

    I’m loving quinoa right now while doing the vegan thing. That dinner looks excellent.

  23. louisianagrown permalink
    January 12, 2010 4:22 pm

    I have a fleur de lis tattoo. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Not your every day circumstance, hummingbird taking coffee with the ants « Veganindairyland's Blog
  2. Riches I heed not nor man’s empty praise: thou mine inheritance now and always « Veganindairyland's Blog
  3. Lazy Man’s Veg Dinner « On Anna's Plate

Leave a comment