Skip to content

Holy Hunger Fighter, Batman!

December 2, 2009

(Ryan, that title is for you!)

Hey all!  How has your morning been? 

I’ve spent the morning grading up at B&N…bleh.  But, the good news is, I got a lot done (although I barely made a dent in those freshmen papers), so I think if I can get a little more work done in the next few hours, I might take a break to do some fun baking! 

In other news…that barley pancake is amazing!  I eat my breakfast early (around 7), so I’m usually pretty hungry by mid-morning.  This morning, I didn’t feel any hunger ALLLL morning long, and wasn’t even that hungry when I broke for lunch around 1:15.  That pancake really held me over!

When I did stop for lunch, I had (surprise, surprise) a wrap and an apple.  Boring, but delicious!  My smart wrap tortilla contained: mushrooms, sprouts, FYH cheese, a big blob of hummus, grape tomatoes, and lettuce.  Yum!

Plated up:

There’s a bird hiding under there!

As I ate, I read:

One of my very best friends (and lovely bridesmaids) gave us this book as part of a wedding present, and I LOVE it!  Everything we’ve made from it has been so good…the recipes are incredibly comprehensive, but also basic and easy to follow.  Bittman has a vegetarian version as well, which would be a great Christmas present for, say, someone who has just gone vegetarian (hint, hint…subtle, right?).

I was perusing the pork and beef section.

Have you recovered from your double-take? 🙂

We’re having a few friends over for dinner on Friday night, and I’m going to cook some meat along with vegetarian sides, so I was looking for some sort of pork or beef dish that would be easy to make, but also “dinner party worthy.”  I was looking at a few recipes for pork tenderloin– they looked pretty easy?  Do you have any suggestions for a simple, meat-based main dish?  Any input would be appreciated!

As I ate, the dogs did this:

For some reason, every time we sit down for a meal, the dogs decide that it’s time to wrestle.  It makes for a very relaxing dining atmosphere. 

I’m now sipping on some Synergy, which promises to: 

  • rejuvenate
  • restore
  • revitalize
  • replenish
  • regenerate

One of my other very best friends (and lovely bridesmaids!) turned me on to Synergy Kombucha on a road trip we took two summers ago, and I’ve been hooked on them ever since.  These babies are addictive!

Hope your day is going well!  We’re going to hear nature writer Rick Bass give a reading up at the college tonight, so I’ll be back with a dinner post and a recap. 

Have a good one!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 7:35 pm

    Your lunch looks good.

    Sadie likes to stare at the door while we are eating.. meaning “i like to go out, NOW”. Once I let her out she seat behind the window and watches us eating.. I am trying to understand her logic and reaosn..

    I read about the Kombucha drinks on Food-fitness-freshair’s blog this morning http://foodfitnessfreshair.wordpress.com/

  2. December 2, 2009 10:45 pm

    hey girl! thanks so much for your sweet comment, let me know if you have any specific workout questions

    lunch looks great!! 🙂

  3. December 2, 2009 10:55 pm

    Your wrap looks delicious! Oh man, I was hooked on those drinks for a while. I had to stop because they were so pricey!

    • December 2, 2009 10:59 pm

      I know…they’re so expensive, but SO good. I don’t usually have a problem with them, because I had to go out of my way to buy them at an all natural grocery store that I don’t shop at very often.

      BUT. Now they carry them at our regular grocery store…I’m in big trouble 🙂

  4. December 2, 2009 11:09 pm

    Yay for kombucha! The guava kind tastes just like juice! Favorite flavor?

    • December 3, 2009 3:00 am

      Mmmm…the guava is my favorite, I think. But you know, I finally tried the “multi-green” flavor– it had always scared me. I loved it! I highly recommend it, if you haven’t already tried it 🙂

  5. December 3, 2009 1:13 am

    How to cook everything … sounds like a wonderful cookbook to me!

  6. December 3, 2009 3:31 am

    Hi there! Thanks so much for the sweet comment you left on my blog. From the looks of things, you are doing great as a vegetarian so far. Keep up the good work!
    You are right, kombucha is completely addicting, especially the guava flavor. 🙂

Leave a comment