Skip to content

Snow Day

December 9, 2009
tags:

Well, our weatherman didn’t really predict bad weather for us, but I guess he was wrong!  Around 9:00 last night, we looked out the window and the snow was coming down hard and fast!  Sure enough, this morning, we woke up to a blanket of about 2 inches! 

THEN, when I checked my e-mail this morning, there was a “Winter Weather Update” informing me that our school was on a two-hour delay!  It’s funny, because it doesn’t affect me at all– I don’t teach on Wednesdays– but I still whooped with excitement!  I guess a snow day is a snow day, in my 8 year-old mind 🙂

Ryan’s back has been KILLING him lately…we think it’s a combination his bad, old office chair and all the time he’s had to spend sitting at the computer lately.  It was especially bad this morning, so he finally made an appointment to see the doctor, hoping for a prescription of some sort.  Hopefully his back will be at least a little bit better by the time we take our long, long road trip this weekend.  Anyway, I was getting ready to shovel out our car because his back was hurting him so badly, but when I opened the front door, shovel in hand, there was our 15 year-old neighbor!  He asked if we wanted our car shoveled out, and I said “Sure!”  I don’t mind doing it…but hey, if somebody else offers… 😉

I really didn’t feel like working out, but because I had some time on my snow shovel-less hands, I decided to hop on the treadmill for a bit.  I always tell myself to just do ten minutes, and then if I want to quit, I can.  Of course, after ten minutes, I hardly ever want to quit!  I swear, the hardest part about any workout for me is just starting it– after that, I’m fine! 

I will say though, I’ve started to get a little bored with my workouts.  In order to save money, we haven’t gotten a gym membership here.  We bought a treadmill for 100 dollars at a garage sale this summer, and we have an assortment of hand weights, dumbells, etc, so we’ve just been working out at home.  It wasn’t that bad in the fall, because I was basically doing my outdoor training for my half-marathon.  But, now that the race is over and the weather has turned, I’ve moved my runs inside on the treadmill, and boredom is quickly setting in. 

Today, to combat the boredom, I ran for 25 minutes, and then I took a stack of my old Fitness and Shape magazines, and flipped through them to find different toning and strength training exercises.  They were all new to me, and some of them were really challenging!  This was a great way to beat the workout rut that I’ve found myself in.  Ryan always makes fun of me for keeping all my old magazines, but they’re great for things like this!

After I wrapped up my workout and showered, it was time for lunch!  Ryan returned from the doctor (with some muscle relaxers– woo hoo!!!! kidding, kidding), and we pulled together a quick lunch.  Our food supply is definitely dwindling…which is a good thing!  I don’t think we’ll have a completely empty refrigerator by the time we leave, but we’ll be pretty dang close!

I had yogurt.  Again.

I bought a twelve pack of Chobanis at Sam’s a while back, and I’m down to the last six or so.  I feel like I’ve been eating A LOT of yogurt lately, because I hate for good greek yogurt to go to waste, and it will be way past the expiration date when we get back from Christmas break.  I like yogurt, but it’s definitely starting to get old…I might have to take a break from Chobani for a while once I’m done with this batch.

Even so– it was delicious!  I topped a peach Chobani with pepitas and half a Lara pb cookie bar (love of my life.  For real.)  I also had two clementines and a wasa crisp with string cheese.  Eating string cheese always makes me feel like a ten year-old.  Does anyone else have this experience?  Some foods just make you feel so…childish 🙂

I told Ryan, eating so much yogurt reminds me of this Jerry Seinfeld bit where he talks about having an excess of milk in the house:

A race against the clock– so true!!

I’m about to head out for some holiday shopping!  Hope your day is going well…are you having bad weather in your neck of the woods?

Stay warm!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2009 6:31 pm

    Brrrr!!! Just the thought of snow makes me shiver to my toes. I sure hate wintry blastery weathers…I’m a wimp when it comes to coldness!
    It’s around 50 degrees here in LA, and I’m already complaining…haha!

    • December 9, 2009 8:57 pm

      Sigh. I used to be someone who complained when it was 50 degrees. 🙂

  2. December 9, 2009 9:33 pm

    haha it is so funny to hear people talking about snow when we have just headed into Summer 🙂 A white Christmas would be a nice thing to experience though!
    Good luck with the holiday shopping!

  3. December 9, 2009 9:43 pm

    I am so jealous – I really wish that we were getting snow.

    • December 9, 2009 10:14 pm

      Are y’all not getting any over in Pittsburgh?? That’s surprising!

  4. December 9, 2009 10:19 pm

    I have to constantly switch the speeds in order to not get bored (literally every minute). It breaks it down into small time periods and it goes by quick!

    The hardest part for me is definitely getting there! Walking in the cold to the gym never sounds great but once I get there I like it.

  5. December 9, 2009 11:23 pm

    Nice garage sale find. I understand about the boring treadmill workout. The TM is my nemesis.

  6. Lynn at The Actors Diet permalink
    December 10, 2009 12:45 am

    eating string cheese makes me feel like a kid too.

  7. December 10, 2009 1:52 am

    I love that Seinfeld clip, I remember it. Good recall!

Leave a comment