Skip to content

Holiday Light Show Spectacular

December 10, 2009
tags: ,

Good evening!  How’s your day gone?

Mine has been good!  After lunch, I headed to TJ Maxx to do a little Christmas shopping.  Did I buy any gifts?  No.  Did I buy a marshmallowy winter coat, some gloves, three new plates, and a hat?  You betcha!

How is it that I always find the most for myself when I set out to shop for other people? 

Confession: my name is Anna, and I’m a compulsive dishware buyer.  Plates, soups, bowls…I love ’em!  Now that I have this blog, the problem has gotten even worse, because I now have a “reason” to buy them.  Oh well…there are worse things I could be addicted to, right?

When I got home, I got all suited up (in my new winter coat and gloves!) to take the dogs out for a walk.  When we walked outside though, after only a few minutes, it started to rain.  Bleh! We turned around and walked home.  But THEN, about two minutes later, I looked out my window and saw that the sky was still gray, but the rain had stopped.  In fact, there was a rainbow!  Check it out:

And then, about two minutes after THAT, the sky looked like this:

So, what else was there to do but leash the dogs up and go out again?

We enjoyed about ten minutes, but then the clouds started rolling in again, so we headed home.  Crazy PA weather!!

After Ryan got home, we waited for it to get dark, so that we could go to…Holiday Lights on the Lake at Lakemont Park!  Every holiday season, the local amusement park puts together “a delightful drive through 51 acres of dazzling lights, spectacular display and magical animations!” (Yes, we got a brochure.)  People have been talking about it since we moved here this summer, so we knew we needed to check it out.  We loaded the dogs into the car and headed over for a holiday extravaganza 🙂

Every time we ride in the car together, both dogs end up sitting on the lap of whoever is in the passenger seat:

Lucky me.  🙂

I think the dogs enjoyed the light show as much as we did!  They were both staring out the windows the whole time!

Ryan liked this Santa rock band display:

I preferred these pretty trees:

By the end of the ride, the dogs were worn out…look at this sibling love:

When we got home, we were all ready for some dinner!  I’ve been thinking about soup all day, so I knew what was on the menu tonight!  As I cooked, I snacked on some cheese and crackers…goodbye, sage derby 😦

I used the other half of the butternut squash from Sunday night’s pizza to create this soup.  It was simple, easy, and DELICIOUS!!!  I love meals that mix sweet and savory, and this definitely fit the bill.  I give you…

Cinna-Vanilla Butternut Squash Bisque

1 small onion, chopped

1 tsp. EVOO

1 tsp. sugar

1/2 butternut squash, chopped

2 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/2 cups vegetable stock

1 cup water

3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (I used Almond Breeze)

Directions:

In a soup pot, heat olive oil.  Add chopped onions and cook over medium heat for five minutes, until softened.  Add sugar and cook for another five minutes.  Add butternut squash and cook for another five minutes, until squash has started to slightly glisten.  Add vegetable broth, water, vanilla, cinnamon, and salt, and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for about 30 minutes, until the vegetables are soft.  In a cuisinart or blender, puree the soup until smooth.  Transfer back to pot and add almond milk, stirring to incorporate.  Add additional salt or pepper if desired, to taste. 

Seriously, this soup was so good.  It was sweet, but not overly so.  The vanilla flavor really came through, and you could see the little specks of cinnamon throughout the soup.  I think this would be a good soup to serve at a brunch or luncheon.  It doesn’t look like much in the pictures, but I promise you– this one was a winner!  We reheated some naan from the other night to go along with it. 

Delicious.

The weather outside is crazy– frightful, indeed!  The wind is S-H-A-K-I-N-G our house to and fro!  I hope it doesn’t keep us up all night– we live in a really old house, and there are always strange noises…lots of bangs and creaking…especially when the weather is bad!

Hope you have a great night– we’re over the hump!  It’s practically the weekend, now!

Goodnight, dear readers.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2009 4:33 am

    OMG those trees are stunning – how’d they do that!!!??

  2. December 10, 2009 12:56 pm

    Wow, what beautiful pictures!! Your din looks amazing, too. Love naan.. soo good 🙂 🙂

    Im not still in PA.. my husband and I moved to NC last year.. we miss a lot of things about it (just not the weather). We will be heading to jtown and pittburgh for Christmas though!

    • December 10, 2009 2:26 pm

      Rats! I’m always on the lookout for new PA friends 🙂 Altoona is not exactly a haven for young folks 🙂

      Have fun over Christmas! We’ll be heading down south, so maybe we’ll cross paths on the interstate.

  3. December 10, 2009 1:24 pm

    I WANT to be a dishware buyer. If I had more room, my cabinets would look like Pier 1! Your soup looks yummy. I was planning on trying a pumpkin soup tonight. Just that kind of weather.

    • December 10, 2009 2:27 pm

      Oh man…my husband won’t even go into Pier One with me now…which might not be the wisest decision on his part…he needs to be there to control me!

  4. December 10, 2009 2:04 pm

    I love TJ Maxx! I am a random, mismatched dish collector, too. Unique dishware makes me happy! And finding great prices makes me even happier!

  5. December 10, 2009 2:16 pm

    I love dishware! Can’t wait to have a permanent home so I can buy dishes!

    Those lights are absolutely lovely! I like that the dogs came along with you!

  6. December 10, 2009 2:42 pm

    Wow the trees look amazing.

    It looks like your doggies like to sit on your lap. Thats what Sadie likes to do and after 30 min 47 lbs of weight on my lap is too much 🙂

  7. December 10, 2009 2:43 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I don’t know if you’ve commented before, but I’m adding you to my blog roll 🙂 P.S, I scrolled down and saw Jerry Seinfeld on your post, I’m his number one fan! haha, ok maybe not, but I love him and say him life her ein Ohio last year. I was laughing so hard I had tears in my eyes the whole time!

  8. December 10, 2009 3:41 pm

    Loooove the rainbow pic and the dogs are making me melt =)

  9. December 10, 2009 4:55 pm

    Number 1 – I am in love with that intense Christmas light display

    Number 2 – I am in love with Jerry Seinfeld

    that’s all

  10. December 10, 2009 4:56 pm

    oh no wait, that wasn’t all . . . and I’m going to watch King Corn soon too

    okay now that’s all

    • December 10, 2009 6:07 pm

      You’ll have to let me know how you like it. It isn’t nearly as intense as Food Inc., but it’s also nice because the entire movie just deals with a single subject, so you feel like you actually get more detail and information.

  11. December 10, 2009 5:31 pm

    I have to admit, I’ve been a bad Christmas shopper so far this season. I’ll probably be scrambling at the last minute. I love all of the pictures with the Christmas lights, and the one of the rainbow is beautiful!

    • December 10, 2009 6:08 pm

      I am usually a scrambler!! In fact, there have been SEVERAL (not just one or two) Christmases where I waited until Christmas Eve to buy gifts. I don’t know what gets into me!

  12. Emily permalink
    December 10, 2009 6:58 pm

    We watched King Corn last night and today NPR’s Morning Edition had a story of a renegade dairy farmer who only uses grass fed cows. The NPR story gave me more pause than the movie, I think. (Maybe because I don’t eat beef. Hmm.) I wanted to like King Corn more than I did — I was slightly annoyed by the two guys haplessness.

    • December 10, 2009 7:07 pm

      “I wanted to like King Corn more than I did” ME TOO! I was SO annoyed by those guys during the movie. I think my annoyance wore off over night, and I liked it more after I had a chance to think about the movie some, but yes, during the movie, I was definitely annoyed by them! I think that one guy only talked like, twice!

Leave a comment